CAST Voices Devotion: Love

CAST Voices Devotion: Love

By Sandy Reid

21 February 2017

Scripture: 1 Corinthians 13: 1-7

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

Love never gives up. Love cares more for others than for self. Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.

Love doesn’t strut, doesn’t have a swelled head, doesn’t force itself on others, isn’t always “me first,” doesn’t fly off the handle, doesn’t keep score of the sins of others, doesn’t revel when others grovel,

Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth, puts up with anything, trusts God always, always looks for the best, never looks back, but keeps going to the end.

Devotion:

The verse that really challenged me was “If I give everything I own to the poor…, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere”.

At CAST we are involved in many programmes in the community and interact with many people. We give a large amount of our time and energy to these programmes and people. The question is: Do we serve in love? Read through the list of love from verse 4. Imagine if we could love like that – Jesus loves like that.

There is a song that I love by For King and Country:

“If I sing but don’t have love, I waste my breath with every song. I bring an empty voice, a hollow noise.  If I speak with a silver tongue, Convince a crowd but don’t have love, I leave a bitter taste with every word I say.

So let my life be the proof, The proof of Your love.  Let my love look like You and what You’re made of. How You lived, how You died, Love is sacrifice.  So let my life be the proof, The proof of Your love.

If I give to a needy soul but don’t have love then who is poor?  It seems all the poverty is found in me.  When it’s all said and done, When we sing our final song, Only love remains.”

Questions:

  1. How is your life proof of His love?
  2. How do you show love, even when you struggle to love someone?
  3. How can CAST ensure our programmes are implemented in love?

We are to “Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.”  1 Corinthians 13: 13

Leave a Reply

